21. Settings. System.

System

Network 

Check or change your Network settings

 

The simple Network Setup Wizard is used to set the unit up on the local network. Pressing OK leads to a series of choices in which the type of network is confirmed (Wired, Wireless or None) along with the network name to be applied to the unit. There is also an option to set aspects such as the network address manually should the need arise. Once the Wizard is complete, confirmation of the unit’s network name and its successful connection are displayed in the Network Settings screen.

 

Video Output

Select Video Output or change itThe 3view unit is capable of automatically detecting the screen resolutions available on the TV to which it is attached. Pressing OK on Preferred Resolution displays the choice available and moving onto the list, highlighting the chosen resolution and then pressing OK will prompt the unit to make the change. If there is a problem with the display, the previous format will be restored after a wait of 15 seconds.

The Screen Shape option is used to set the shape of the screen to which the 3view is attached: standard 4:3 or widescreen 16:9. Move across and press OK to make a selection.

Digital Audio
Pressing OK on this menu entry will cycle through Bitstream (audio sent in original format), None (no digital audio output) and PCM (digital audio converted to stereo). Bitstream is the default choice for most installations, but PCM may work better if the attached audio device cannot decode the Bitstream format.

Clock
Time Zone
There are five settings to be made in this section:
Time Zone
Use the OK button to select the local time zone.
Daylight Saving Time (British Summer Time)
Decide whether or not the unit should acknowledge the change to and from Daylight Saving Time.
Setting Mode
Choose between automatic and manual clock setting. If the automatic option is chosen, date and time will be set using broadcast information.

Date
The date only needs to be set if Setting Mode is set to manual.
                           

Time
The time only needs to be set if Setting Mode is set to manual.

System Info
DSC02415

 

There are two particularly useful pieces of information in System Info: Version Information and Chip Serial Number. Version Information indicates which firmware is currently installed and Chip Serial Number is the equivalent of the unit’s Serial Number, the same number as that printed on the label underneath the unit and on the box in which it was packed. The unit’s Serial Number is displayed here and so this is a convenient way to obtain it.

 

Software Update
Software update from the Network

New software (firmware) may become available from time-to-time either by download through the My3view link on the 3view website (registration is required) or directly over the Internet to the 3view unit. If the source is the My 3view link, the file must be transferred to the unit by USB flash drive which is plugged into one of the two USB ports at the rear of the case. USB/Removable-Media Update and Network Update allow the source to be chosen and the available releases are listed on-screen.

 

The central arrow keys are used to select the software to be loaded and pressing OK on Install Now will start the process which may take a little time. Once the software has been installed, the unit will restart. Settings, the program Guide (EPG), timers and recordings will all be unaffected.

System Reset
This menu offers opportunities to reset all of the system or selected areas.

Restart System will interrupt any recordings in progress and reboot the unit. The operation takes several minutes and is initiated by arrowing right and pressing OK on the Restart button.
Full Reset of unit

Clear Local Media is used to permanently delete all locally saved photos, music and video. Arrow right and press OK on the Clear button. This function should be used with care as its effects cannot be reversed.

Clear Data and Restart System Arrowing right and pressing OK on the Reset button will permanently delete all content on the device. All locally saved media, recorded TV programs, databases, settings, and preferences will be lost. The operation takes several minutes to complete, following which the device will restart and run the startup wizard.

 

Warning!  Using this option will delete all data and settings and return your unit to factory settings!


 

Advertisements

, , , , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: