Posts Tagged list

7. Managing your Channels.

It’s highly likely that you won’t want to have to navigate or work your way through lot’s  of channels that you have no intentions of ever watching. The 3View unit allows you to hide those channels from being shown in the Guide or when channel surfing using the P+ or P – keys.

Hiding Channels.

Accessing Manage Channels

 

 To hide channels from view in the Guide, click on the Setup button on the remote control.  In the Settings page, Channels is highlighted on the left hand side of this screen. On the right hand side you have a list containing Scan Channels, Manage Channels, Favourite Channels and Recording Defaults.  Using the direction buttons on the remote, navigate to Manage Channels.

 

 

Manage Channels in Settings

 

Using the direction buttons move over to the Channels column on the right and then work your way through all of the channels using the up/down keys pressing OK in order to tick or untick those channels that you wish to be hidden from view. You can also set up a list of your Favourite channels as well using exactly the same method.  Just move down to the Favourite Channels in the list and then move into the list of channels as before to tick those that you wish to include in your favourite channels list.

 

Guide just showing favourite channels

 

To exit this Settings screen, press Back or Exit on the remote control. Now when navigating the Guide, only those channels that you ticked will be shown making it so much easier to both watch your channels and also set up any recordings that you wish to make. To change the channel order available to you in the Guide from your chosen channels, press the Guide button on the remote control and then click on the Info button to cycle through your chosen channels by number, by name and thirdly just your favourite channels.

 

TIP! If you want to hide lot’s of channels it might be quicker to select Clear All first and then work your way through the channel list just ticking those channels that you wish to show.

Recording Defaults.  

Whilst you are in the Settings screen, its a good idea to set up the default settings for your recordings. These defaults are applied to all your recordings but you can still change the settings later for any individual recordings as you set them up in the Guide or in the Info Bar. In the settings screen, move down to the Recording Default choice in the left hand list. 

Advertisements

, , , , , ,

Leave a comment

11. Managing Your Recordings.

Watch a recording.

Watching a recording from a series

 

In order to access and play back any of your recordings click on the PVR button to access the Recordings screen. The list on the left hand side of this screen contains a list of recordings already made and also all of your scheduled single and series timers that you have set.  The list on the right hand side contains all the recordings linked to each timer shown in the left hand column as you highlight it whether they have already taken place or have yet to record.

 

 

Play first episode available

Using the direction keys on the remote control,  move down the left hand list of recordings until you highlight a recording that you wish to watch.  Press Play to watch that particular recording. If it is part of a series (two green ticks) you will watch the first available episode. 

Alternatively you can press OK followed by pressing OK again on Play First Available. If you have already watched some of the recording previously it will begin automatically from where you left the recording last time. If you prefer to watch the recording from the beginning again, highlight ‘Play from Beginning’ and press OK.

 

Move to the right to choose an episode

If you wish to watch a different episode belonging to a series, highlight that particular recording in the left hand list and then using the right direction button move to the right hand list of episodes that have been recorded from that series. Move down or up to select which episode you wish to watch.

 Press OK and then press Play. As before, if you watched part of the recording previously it will begin from where you left off. If you wish to watch from the beginning then press OK on Play from BeginningA program which has already been recorded and is still visible in the Guide can also be played back by pressing Play on the highlighted entry.

PVR Event Viewer

The PVR Event Viewer which is also accessed from the Recordings screen is a collection of reports about your recordings, both those that have taken place and those still to be recorded in the future . It allows access to four separate screens associated with your recordings and which are cycled through  by pressing  the INFO button on the remote control.

All Events in PVR ViewerAll Events  screen lists all of your future recordings in chronological order and shows any potential failures due to issues such as conflicts etc by showing appropriate icons and text.

Recordings lists all current recorded programs along with those set to record in the future.

Deletions lists all the recordings that you have either placed in the Waste Basket or deleted along with any timers that you have cancelled.

Unexpected Events provides you with information about why some programs weren’t recorded or might not be recorded in the future.

All Recordings.

All recordings appears at the top of the left hand list under Search and PVR Event Viewer and when highlighted shows a complete listing  of all of your recorded programs on the right hand side of the screen. Pressing OK on any entry in the list on the right shows you a number of options:

Play from the All Programs list

 

Play  Play that particular recording, either from the beginning or from wherever you last watched it if you began to watch it previously.

Record Series. If this recording is part of a series and was originally set as a single recording, this choice allows you to now set it up as a Series.

Save Until. This choice allows you to alter how long the 3View unit keeps that recording before auto deleting it. You can choose to keep it forever,

 

Save until from the All Programs list

 

Put in Waste Basket. This choice allows you to place the recording in a Waste Basket and is useful for if you decide that you might wish to watch it again or change your mind later.

Delete Permanently.  This choice will fully delete the recording from the hard drive.  You will be unable to restore it later if you change your mind so please use with caution!  

 


, , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment